IIEA Membership Details

Prices and Gift Cards

Sign Up to the IIEA Monthly Newsletter

Sitemap Find what you need quickly


Research Areas & Staff

Foreign Policy Group

Eoin McDonnell

H.E. Pádraig Murphy

The Chair of the IIEA Foreign Policy group is H.E. Pádraig Murphy, distinguished former Irish Ambassador and is currently serving as a Special Representative dealing with frozen conflicts during Ireland's presidency of the OSCE. During his career with the Department of Foreign Affairs he was posted to Russia, Germany, Japan and Spain among others, as well as serving as Political Director of the Department.

About the group:

The IIEA Foreign Policy group analyses major questions of international relations and global governance. It examines themes such as democratisation, human rights, peacebuilding and multilateralism. The group explores in particular EU relations with third countries, regional conflict and integration, the role of civil society, and developments in international organisations, such as the United Nations. 

Regular events are held with Foreign Ministers from EU and non-EU countries, leading figures in international organisations, experts from the European External Action Service (EEAS) and distinguished international relations scholars.

Previous speakers:


- Tariq Ramadan, Professor of Contemporary Islamic Studies at Oxford University

- Kurt Bassuener, Co-Founder of the Democratisation Policy Council


- Eamon Gilmore, Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade

- Pavlo Klimkin, Deputy Foreign Minister of Ukraine

- Bozidar Djelic, Deputy Prime Minister of Serbia

- Viorel Isticioaia Badura, Managing Director for Asia and the Pacific in the EEAS

- Edward Nalbandian, Foreign Minister of Armenia

- David O’Sullivan, Chief Operating Officer of the EEAS

- Pierre Morel, EU Special Representative for Central Asia

- Nickolay Mladenov, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria

- Lord David Owen

- Proinsias De Rossa, MEP, Chair of the European Parliament Delegation for Relations with the Palestinian Legislative Council

- Professor Rosemary Hollis, City University London

- H.E. Jaakko Iloniemi and H.E. Nina Vaskunlahti, Finnish diplomats and experts on Russia

- Dr Robin Niblett Director, Chatham House

- Eldad Beck, journalist with Israel’s Yedioth Ahronot

- H.E. Andrew Heyn, British Ambassador to Burma


- Minister Micheál Martin, Minister for Foreign Affairs

- Francois Roux, Chief Diplomatic Advisor to the Belgian State Secretary for European Affairs

- Markus Meckel, Member of the German Bundestag and last Foreign Minister of the German Democratic Republic

- H.E. Julian Beresford King, British Ambassador to Ireland

- Paul Johnston, UK Foreign Commonwealth Office

- Peter Gottwald, German Foreign Ministry

- H.E. Eitvydas Bajrunas, Political Director at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania

- David Gardner, International Affairs Editor, Financial Times

- Alon Ben-David, Israeli journalist

- Manuchehr Mottaki, Iranian Minister for Foreign Affairs

- Ahmet Davutoglu, Turkish Minister for Foreign Affairs

- Jolyon Howorth, visiting Professor of Political Science and International Affairs, Yale University


- Ban Ki-Moon, Secretary General, United Nations

- Javier Solana, EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy

- Marc Otte, EU Special Representative for the Middle East Peace Process


- Mehdi Safari, Deputy Foreign Minister of Iran

- Richard Yung, Member of the French Senate

- Maarti Ahtisaari, 2008 Nobel Peace Prize winner


- Karel de Gucht, Belgian Minister of Foreign Affairs

- Colleen P. Graffy, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy, US State Department

- Vardan Oskanian, Armenian Minister for Foreign Affairs


- Rt. Hon. Lord Goldsmith QC, Attorney General of the UK

- Shyam Saran, Special Envoy of the Prime Minister of India

- Mark Otte, EU Special Representative for the Middle East

- Andras Barsony, Political State Secretary of the Hungarian Foreign Ministry

- Magda Váìáryová. State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic


- Anand Panyarachun, former Prime Minister of Thailand

- Valeriu Ostalep, Deputy Foreign Minister of Moldova

- Lord David Hannay

- Graham Avery, Director General RELEX, European Commission

- Salome Zourabichvili, Georgian Foreign Minister


- Karl von Wogau, MEP

- Niall Burgess, Department of Foreign Affairs, seconded to the Solana-led policy unit at the Council of the European Union

- Professor Mary Kaldor, LSE

- Andrew Cottey, Department of Government at University College Cork

- Eunan O’Halpin, Department of Modern History at Trinity College Dublin


- Javier Solana, High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy

- James Wolfensohn, President, World Bank

- Chris Patten, European Commissioner for External Relations

- Catherine Day, European Commission

- Alison Bailes, Director of the Swedish Institute of European Affairs

- Mostafa El Feki, Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee of the Egyptian Parliament


- Catherine Day, DG External Relations at the European Commission

- Carl Bildt, former Swedish Prime Minister and UN Special Representative for the Balkans


- Chris Patten, European Commissioner for External Relations

- Catherine Day, Deputy Director-General for External Relations, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East and South Mediterranean, European Commission


- Javier Solana, High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy

- Des Dowling, Irish Department of Defence

- Professor Gerhard Haffner, University of Vienna


- Noel Dorr, former Secretary General of the Department of Foreign Affairs

- Henri Zipper de Fabiani, Deputy Director for Strategic Affairs, French Ministry of Defence

- Fraser Cameron, Political Advisor, European Commission DG1

- Paul Gillespie, Foreign Editor, The Irish Times

- Christopher Hill, Professor of International Relations at LSE

- Richard Townsend, Political Director, Irish Department of Foreign Affairs

- Hans Peter Neuhold, Director, Austrian Institute for International Affairs at the University of Vienna


- Alison Bailes, Political Director of the Western European Union

- Declan Kelliher, Irish Department of Foreign Affairs

- Dessie O’Malley, TD

- Pronsias de Rossa, TD, President of the Labour Party


- Fraser Cameron, European Commission DG1A


Andrew Gilmore

Andrew Gilmore

Senior Researcher andrew.gilmore@iiea.com
Foreign Policy Group