IIEA Membership Details

Prices and Gift Cards

Sign Up to the IIEA Monthly Newsletter

Sitemap Find what you need quickly


Research Areas & Staff

Energy Policy Group

Researcher: Max Muenchmeyer

Alex White

The IIEA Energy Policy Group provides a unique forum for leading stakeholders to discuss key policy issues and emerging trends in energy. The group aims to stimulate informed debate and analysis of the major issues shaping the European energy landscape and Ireland’s place within it. 

The Energy Policy group regularly welcomes policymakers and thought?leaders from the EU, U.S. and beyond. Members are afforded unique opportunities to network with European and international policymakers, key stakeholders from industry, multinationals and representatives from research and financial circles. The lively programme of keynote speeches, private lunches, seminars and conferences allows members to keep up to date with the latest policy developments in Brussels and around the world.

Previous speakers on energy policy include:
Marie Donnelly, Director for Renewables, Research and Innovation and Energy Efficiency, European Commission
Francis O'Sullivan, Director of Research and Analysis, MIT Energy Initiative
David Connolly, Associate Professor in Energy Planning, Aalborg University
Paolo Santi, MIT Lead, Ambient Mobility Lab

Willett Kempton, Research Director, the Center for Carbon-free power integration
Kathryn Sullivan, CEO, Smart Electric Power Alliance
Julia Hamm, Chair, New York Public Services Commission
Jim Skea, RCUK Energy Startegy Fellow and Professor of Sustainable Energy, Imperial College London
Hal Harvey, Chief Executive of Energy innovation LLC
Edward Lucas, Energy Editor, the Economist
Maros Sefcovic, Vice President for Energy union, European Commission
Alex White, Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources
Michael Liebreich, Founder, Bloomberg New Energy Finance
Diarmuid O'Connell, Vice President for Business Development, Tesla
Scott McGaraghan, Head of Energy Partner Products, Nest Labs
Matthew Warren, Chief executive, Energy Supply Association of Australia
Mark McGranaghan, Vice President, Electric power Research Institute
Eleni Pratsini, Director of IBM-Research, Ireland
Amory Lovins, Cofounder and Chief Scientist, The Rocky Mountain Institute 
Lorna Sherin, Managing Director, RBC Capital and Markets
Pat O'Doherty, Chief Executive, ESB
Sean O'Driscoll, Chief Executive, Glen Dimplex
Philip Lewis, Chief executive, VaasaETT

Philip Moynagh, Vice President of the Internat of Tings Group at Intel
Alex Laskey, President and Founder, Opower
Pat O'Doherty, Chief Executive, ESB
Steven Collier, Director of Smart Grid Strategies, Milsoft Utility Solutions

Fergal McNamara, Head of Capacity Marked Design, UK Department of Energy



Edward Chow, Senior Fellow, Energy and National Secuirty Programme, Center for Strategic and Internaitonal Studies

Philip Andrews-Speed, Principal Fellow, Energy Studies Institute, National University of Singapore

Hans Joachim Schnellnhuber, Directos, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research

Simon Giles, Global Lead, Accenture Intelligent Cities Strategy

Robert Gifford, Professor of Psychology and the School of Environkmental Studies, University of Victoria, Canada

Dario Gil, Director for Energy and Natural Resoruces, IBM Research

Tadhg O'Briain, Internal Energy Market Unit, DG Energy

Malcolm Keay, Senior Research Fellow, Oxford Institute for Energy Studies

Jean-Arnold Vinois, Former Director, Internal Energy Market, DG Energy

Jean-Michel Glachant, Director, Florence School of Regulation

Leonard Meeus, Leader, THINK Project and Research Fellow, Florence School of Regulation



Pat Rabbitte, Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources

Gunther Oettinger, Energy Commissioner, European Commission

Michael Liebreich, Founder, Bloomberg New Energy Finance

Dana Christensen, Deputy Laboratory Director for Science and Technology, US Department of Energy National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Justin Hall-Tipping, Venture Capitalist, Entrepreneur and CEO of Nano Holdings LLC

Richard Sears,  MIT, former VP at Royal Dutch Shell

Friedbert Pflueger, Director, European Center for Energy and Resource Security, King's College London

Farooq Abdullah, Indian Minister fir New and Renewable Energy

Joakim Haugue, Director and CEO of the Sahara Forest Project

Fatih Birol, Chief Economist, International Energy Agency



European Energy Union: Living up to its name?

Regional Electricity Markets in the EU

What does the Volkswagen Scandal mean for EU Energy and Environment Policy?


Recent projects: 

A major international Summit on the future of energy, which was hosted in collaboration with ESB.

Max Muenchmeyer

Max Muenchmeyer

Researcher Max@iiea.com
Energy Policy Group