IIEA Membership Details

Prices and Gift Cards

Sign Up to the IIEA Monthly Newsletter

Sitemap Find what you need quickly


Research Areas & Staff

Economics and Finance

Researcher: Tim Costello

About the Economic Governance Group:

This group hosts a series of high-level lectures and seminars, open to the general membership of the IIEA, on European economic coordination, integration, reform and wider issues relating to the European economy, its constituent parts and the policy response to these issues. Questions that the group will focus on in 2013 include unemployment, paying particular attention to youth unemployment, jobs and growth, banking union, fiscal union, budgetary union, the single market and the EU-US Free trade agreement. The aim of the group is to provide a forum for the discussion between academics, members of the research community, civil servants, policy makers and the media on key questions relating to European economic governance.


To view all blogs related to the Economics and Finance theme click here.

Previous speakers on Economics and Finance include:

David Marsh, Chairman and co-founder of the Official Monetary and Financial Institutions Forum

Wolfgang Münchau, Associate Editor of the Financial Times

Carlos Moedas, Secretary of State responsible for monitoring the implementation of Portugal’s EU-IMF Economic and Financial Assistance Programme

Peter Bofinger, Member of the German Council of Economic Experts

Christine Lagarde, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund

John Kay, Visiting Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics

Steffen Kampeter, Parliamentary State Secretary at the German Ministry of Finance

Pierre Moscovici, France’s Minister of the Economy and Finance

Algirdas Šemeta, Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud

Sharon Bowles, Chair of the European Parliament's Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee

Andreas Dombret, Member of the Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank

Lawrence Summers, former US Treasury Secretary

Lord Robert Skidelsky, Emeritus Professor at the University of Warwick

Christian Noyer, Governor of the Bank of France

Charles Dallara, Managing Director of the Institute of International Finance

Maurice Obstfeld, Professor of Economics at University California, Berkeley

Jörg Asmussen, member of the Executive Board of the ECB

Danny McCoy, Director General of the Irish Business Employers Confederation

Jean Claude Trichet, then President of the ECB

Barry Eichengreen, Professor of Economics at University California, Berkeley

Klaus Regling, CEO of the European Financial Stability Fund





Tim Costello

Tim Costello

Researcher tim.costello@iiea.com
Economics and Finance