IRELAND AND THE EUROPEAN UNION AT 50: POLITICS, POLICY AND TRANSFORMATION

THURSDAY 11TH MAY & FRIDAY 12TH MAY 2023

MAYNOOTH UNIVERSITY SOCIAL SCIENCES INSTITUTE, MAYNOOTH CO. KILDARE



Co-funded by the European Union



The Institute of 💒 International & **IIIEA** European Affairs



Social **Sciences** Institute

THURSDAY 11 MAY 2023

8.30a.m.	Attendee Registration - coffee on arrival
9.15a.m.	Opening Welcome by Professor John O' Brennan, Maynooth University and Alex White, IIEA
9.30a.m.	Opening Welcome Address: Professor Eeva Leinonen, President Maynooth University
10.15a.m.	 Former Taoisigh reflect on Ireland and the EU Bertie Ahern John Bruton In interview with Professor John O' Brennan
11.15 a.m	Coffee Break
11.30a.m.	 EU Policies Chair: Dr Barry Colfer, Director of Research, IIEA Dan O' Brien, IIEA Professor Frances Ruane, ESRI Dr Diarmuid Torney, Dublin City University
12.30p.m.	Lunch
1.30p.m.	 Social Europe Chair: Frances Byrne, Early Childhood Ireland Paul Ginnell, EAPN Ireland Professor Seán Ó Riain Maynooth University Further speaker to announced
2.30p.m.	 'Communicating Europe' in Ireland Chair: Dr Patricia Conlan, University of Limerick Barbara Nolan, European Commission Representation, Ireland Dr Emmanuelle Schön-Quinlivan, University College Cork Professor John O' Brennan, Maynooth University Noelle O' Connell, European Movement Ireland
3.30pm.	Coffee Break
4.00.p.m.	 Reporting Europe Chair: Dr Paul Gillespie, UCD/The Irish Times Gavin Esler, BBC Suzanne Lynch, Politico Europe Shona Murray, Euronews
5.00p.m.	Wine Reception and Keynote Academic Address: Professor Desmond Dinan, George Mason University, Washington DC









FRIDAY 12 MAY 2023

9.30a.m.	 Education, Research and Science Chair: Professor Linda Connolly, Maynooth University Professor Ellen Hazelkorn, TU Dublin Professor Philip Nolan, Director General, Science Foundation Ireland Dr Edward Walsh, Founding President, University of Limerick
10.30a.m.	Keynote Address Mairead McGuinness, EU Commissioner for Financial Stability, Financial Services, and the Capital Markets Union
11.30a.m.	Coffee Break
11.45am.	 The Ministerial Experience Chair: Dr Mary C. Murphy, University College Cork Barry Andrews MEP & Former Minister of State for Children Alan Dukes, Former Minister for Finance Alex White, Former Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources
12.45p.m.	Lunch
1.45p.m.	 The Brussels Experience Chair: Francis Jacobs, Former Head, European Parliament Office, Dublin Marian Harkin, ALDE Proinsias De Rossa, S & D John Cushnahan, EPP
2.45p.m.	 How Ireland was/is perceived in Brussels and in other Member States Chair: Marie Cross, IIEA Dr Eoin Drea, Martens Centre, Brussels Ambassador Mari Skåre, Ambassador of Norway to Ireland Rory Montgomery, former Irish Ambassador to France and Permanent Representative to the EU Ambassador Laurentiu-Mihai Stefan, Ambassador of Romania to Ireland
3.45p.m.	Coffee Break
4.00p.m.	 Gender and Intersectionality Chair: Dr Pauline Cullen, Maynooth University Professor Maura Adshead, University of Limerick Dr Muireann O' Dwyer, St Andrews University Professor Delia Ferri, Maynooth University Dr Sindy Joyce, University of Limerick
5.00p.m.	 Northern Ireland, Ireland and the EU on the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement Chair: Flor McCarthy, Oireachtas TV Dr Giada Lagana, Cardiff University John McGrane, British Irish Chambers of Commerce Dr Mary C. Murphy, University College Cork Dr Lisa Claire Whitten, Queens University Belfast
6.00p.m.	Closing Address Professor John O' Brennan, Maynooth University







