IIEA Membership Details

Prices and Gift Cards

Sign Up to the IIEA Monthly Newsletter

Sitemap Find what you need quickly



As Ireland's leading think tank on International and European Affairs, the IIEA provides a forum for discussion and analysis of key International and European policy issues. The Institute's agenda is designed to anticipate emerging trends which have implications for Ireland and Europe.


Every year the Institute holds over 100 high level events on business, economic, political and legal issues. These events include policy dialogues, keynote addresses, briefings, seminars and conferences at which high-level Irish, EU and global decision makers and thought leaders addressed the members.

Meetings are generally held under Europe House rules of confidentiality. This means that speechs and presentations will be on the record while the Q&A session will be confidential to ensure frank and vibrant discussion.


Work Programmes:

The Institute's research work is organised in eighteen working groups which meet once a month.

The flagship projects in 2017 are:


Energy and Climate Change

Digital Future

Economics and Finance

Future of Europe

The work programmes generate a wide range of publications including reports, briefing notes, books and pamphlets. Publications

High profile keynote speakers at the Institute include:

Political leaders: Gordon Brown, Mikhail Gorbachev, Giuliano Amato, Chris Patten, Valery Giscard d'Estaing, Dominique de Villepin, John Podesta;
Leading intellectuals including Jeffrey Sachs, Joseph Stiglitz, Noam Chomsky, Joseph Nye;
European decision-makers
including Catherine Day, Andris Piebalgs, Javier Solana, László Kovács, Charlie McCreevy, Franco Frattini;
Eminent legal experts
including the Rt. Hon Lord Goldsmith QC, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg;
Leaders of international financial institutions such as Jean Claude Trichet, James D. Wolfensohn, Pascal Lamy and Hans Tietmeyer;
International business leaders including Peter Sutherland, Martin Broughton, Niall FitzGerald, and Willie Walsh; and
Leaders of international bodies including Hans Blix, Mohamed ElBaradei, Rajendra K. Pachauri.